LPRC staff:

 

TATYANA ZINOVICH

TATYANA ZINOVICH

Executive director

From February 2014 is acting director of the Legal Policy Research Centre. Since December 2011 acted as a deputy director of the Centre. From January 2005 till December 2011, served as an independent expert. From January 2011, worked with the Legal Policy Research Centre as a Legal programs coordinator and expert. From December 2009 till December 2011, served as a junior expert and coordinator of the OSCE/ODIHR project “Perspectives of improving institute of jury trials in Kazakhstan” and “Improving judicial authorization in pretrial detention in the Republic of Kazakhstan”. From September 2006 till September 2008 served a coordinator of the OSCE/ODIHR project “Monitoring of judicial consideration of cases with participation of jury trials in the republic of Kazakhstan”. Served as an expert in the OSCE Centre in Astana project “Monitoring of trials in the Republic of Kazakhstan 2007”. Served as an expert in the OSCE/ODIHR project “Monitoring of trials in the Republic of Kazakhstan 2005-2006”. From September 2005 till September 2006, was lecturing in the College of Law and Economics following disciplines: «Basics of criminology”, “Legal statistics”, “and Judicial proceedings”. Lecturer of second degree on the subject: “Basics of criminology”. Master of jurisprudence. Specialization: criminal process, criminology and judicial expertise. Qualification: lawyer, lecturer. She is a member of the Consultative and Advisory body under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan “Dialogue platform for Human Dimension”, member of the Legal counsel under “Nur Otan” party. In 2013, she was awarded with the medal of the Constitutional Council of Kazakhstan "Конституциялық заңдылықты нығайтуға қосқан үлесі үшін".


MIROSHNICHENKO OLGA

OLGA MIROSHNICHENKO 

Projects coordinator

Since September 2011 serves as a program coordinator in the Legal Policy Research Centre. From September 2009 till August 2011, was a program assistant in Freedom house representative office in Kazakhstan. From January 2006 till September 2008, served as an administrator of the representative office of the Royal Netherlands foundation for treatment of tuberculosis in Kazakhstan. Starting with 2001 for several years had served as an administrative assistant in the Penal reform International (PRI), office for Central Asia. In LPRC she is responsible for organizing administrative work in the office, projects coordination in Kazakhstan, developing contacts with Media representatives, managing work of interns, developing contacts with NGOs and state bodies. She has a Bachelor degree in Jurisprudence. 


DINA ISKALIYEVA 

Projects coordinator

In 2012 had graduated from the Kazakh-German University with Bachelor degree in International relations. From September 2012 serves as a projects coordinator of the Legal Policy Research Centre. From March 2011 till April 2012, served as a program assistant to the OSCE Centre in Astana Human Dimension. From July 2011 till October 2011, was an assistant to project coordinator in “Women access to justice” project of the International Commission for Jurists (ICJ) in Almaty. From November 2010 till February 2011, served as a program assistant to the Rule of law coordinator in Central Asia in the OSCE/ODINR office in Almaty.


VASSILENKO YELENA

YELENA VASSILENKO 

Chief accountant

From January 2013 is a chief accountant of the Legal Policy Research Centre. From 1993 till 2012 served as a chief accountant in different commercial organizations. From 1989 till 1992 served as a deputy director in self-supporting enterprises. From 1986 till 1988 served as a head of planning department of Kalininskiy trust of canteens and restaurants. From 1981 till 1985 was a senior accountant in self-supporting enterprise №112. From 1977 till 1981 served as an economist and senior economist in the Central projects and construction bureau of the Ministry of auto roads of KazSSR. She had graduated from Planning and economy faculty of Alma-Ata institute of National economy. Specialty – Manufacturer planning.


 

Advisory board is a consultative body, which determines long termed directions of development of the research centre. Advisory board consists of high-qualified experts in different areas, representing different countries. Advisory board of the Centre: 

 

VLADIMIR SHKOLNIKOV

VLADIMIR SHKOLNIKOV

Mr. Vladimir Shkolnikov is the Senior Human Rights Adviser to Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights in the South Caucasus. In 2008-2011, Mr. Shkolnikov held a number of senior positions in the civil society sector. From 2004 to 2008, he served as the Head of Democratization Department at the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE/ODIHR). Between 1995 and 2004, Mr. Shkolnikov was an Adviser on migration and freedom of movement at OSCE/ODIHR. In 1989-1995, he was a Resident Research Consultant at RAND Corporation in Santa Monica, California (CA), USA. In 1987, Mr. Shkolnikov received a Bachelor’s degree with Honors in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the California State University, Sacramento, CA, and obtained a Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Irvine, CA. In 1991, Mr. Shkolnikov earned his second Master’s degree in Public Policy Analysis from RAND Graduate School of Policy Studies in Santa Monica, CA.  In 1995, Mr. Shkolnikov obtained his Ph.D. in Public Policy Analysis from the same institution.


NURUMOV DMITRY

NURUMOV DMITRY

Had graduated from Kazakhstan national University named after Al. Farabi with speciality in jurisprudence and Kazakhstan state university of international relations and world languages named after Ablay Khan with speciality in international relations - document specialist (consular service), candidate of law (Moscow state University of International Relations, 2000). In the beginning of his career was involved in research and teaching activity, cooperated as expert with national and international NGOs and intergovernmental organizations, was working in Representative office of Inertnational migration organization in Kazakhstan dealing with issues of illegal migration, worked as legal expert in the OSCE Centre in Almaty. In 2003 - 2011 worked as program coordinator on rule of law in the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR). While working with OSCE/ODIHR in 2008-2009 coordinated project on monitoring judicial proceedings in Armenia. 2011 - 2014 was working as the senior legal officer of the OSCE High Commissioner for National Minorities (the Hague, Netherlands).


VERA TKACHENKO

VERA TKACHENKO

In July 2010 Vera Tkachenko (Ms) assumed her duties as International Project Manager of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime in the Kyrgyz Republic with primary responsibilities for crime prevention and criminal justice area. She leads UNODC project “Support to Criminal Justice and Prison Reform in the Kyrgyz Republic” aimed at strengthening the rule of law in the Kyrgyz Republic through enhanced multi-agency coordination and policy development on crime prevention and criminal justice, improvement of prison management and social reintegration of offenders, and strengthened forensic services. From 2008 to present time Vera Tkachenko served as director of the Legal Policy Research Centre (LPRC), Kazakhstan. LPRC is a non-political, independent research institute that works to strengthen the rule of law, promote liberal values and generate legal reforms through rigorous research and pro-active engagement with policy makers. From 2001 to 2006 she served as director of Penal Reform International Regional Office for Central Asia. Penal Reform International is a leading international non-governmental organisation working on penal and criminal justice reform worldwide. From 1999 to 2000 she worked on implementation of human dimension projects of the OSCE Centre in Kazakhstan. In 2006-2007 as a Chevening Scholar Vera Tkachenko has received the degree of Master of Science in Criminal Justice Policy in the London School of Economics and Political Science. In 2007 she was a fellow at Stanford Summer Programme on Democracy, Development and Rule of Law. She also has bachelor degree in Law. In 2008 Vera Tkachenko was elected as Deputy Secretary General of Penal Reform International (PRI) and in July 2011 as Deputy Chairperson of PRI, international non-governmental organisation that promotes penal reform throughout the world. From 2013 she is member of PRI General Board. From 2009 she serves as a fellow of the International Centre for Prison Studies (Kings College, London). Vera Tkachenko has wide experience in criminal justice and penal reform issues.


DANIYAR KANAFIN

DANIYAR KANAFIN

Daniyar Kanafin – is a deputy head of Centre for training and higher qualification of lawyers under the Almaty bar association, lawyer to Almaty bar association, and Presidium member of Almaty bar association, Presidium member of Republican bar association, associate professor, and candidate of law. He cooperated as national expert with the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, OSCE Centers in Astana and Bishkek, Soros Foundation Kazakhstan and other international organizations. He was awarded with a medal “For professionalism” by Lawyers Union of Kazakhstan in 2008. In 2009 Mr. Kanafin awarded a title “Lawyer of the year” by Lawyers Union of Kazakhstan. In 2013 he was awarded with a medal of the Minister of Justice of Kazakhstan “For impact in development of justice bodies”. Mr. Kanafin is an author of about 60 scientific publications.


VASHCHANKA VASILIY

VASHCHANKA VASILIY 

Had graduated from the faculty of law of the European Humanitarian University (Minsk-Vilnius) and LLM of the Central European University (Budapest). He has Bachelor degree of law and LLM. In 2001-2002 served as a legal consultant in investment company (Moscow). From 2002 till 2012 was a Rule of law specialist in the OSCE/ODIHR (Warsaw). Headed different projects in areas of reforming legislation and legal systems, including Central Asian region. In 2012 – 2014 served as a specialist of the International Institute of endowment for democracy and election procedures (Stockholm). Areas of interest: election law and process, settlement of a dispute in election process.


NIKOLAI KOVALEV

LL.M, PhD, Assistant Professor of Criminology (starting July 2014 – Associate Professor) Department of Criminology Wilfrid Laurier University (Brantford, Ontario, Canada). Dr. Kovalev's research is focused on comparative criminal justice, criminal law, criminal procedure and human rights. He is particularly interested in the evolution of jury trials and reforms in the criminal justice systems of post-Communist transitional countries. Other research projects include study of jury bias in neo-Nazi skinhead trials and lay adjudication in military justice. His current research project concerns practice of manipulation of juries in Canada and other countries. Dr. Kovalev has served as an expert on comparative criminal justice, law reform and international human rights for the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), American Bar Association/ Rule of Law Initiative (ABA/ROLI), U.S. Department of Justice, International Commission of Jurists, and Legal Policy Research Centre. He completed legal analysis of numerous legislative acts in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. Dr. Kovalev is a frequent speaker at conferences, round-tables, seminars and workshops on issues of human rights and criminal justice reforms in post-Communist states.


DIMASH ALZHANOV

DIMASH ALZHANOV

He holds MSc degree in Comparative Politics from London School of Economics and Political Science. He has a broad experience in the NGO sector in the areas of democratization, electoral process and comparative politics. In 2007-2010 worked as a Programme Manager for National Democratic Institute for International Affairs. He participated as a Political Analyst in the OSCE ODIHR Election Observation Mission for the Presidential Elections in Ukraine, 2014. Area of interests: electoral systems and electoral law, comparative politics.

Сотрудники Центра:

 

ЗИНОВИЧ ТАТЬЯНА

ЗИНОВИЧ ТАТЬЯНА

Исполнительный директор

С февраля 2014 г. исполняет обязанности директора Центра исследования правовой политики. С декабря 2011 г. занимала должность Заместителя директора Центра. С января 2005 по декабрь 2011 г.г. являлась независимым экспертом. С января 2011 г. работала с Центром исследования правовой политики в качестве координатора правовых программ и эксперта. С декабря 2009 по декабрь 2010 г.г. была младшим экспертом и координатором по проектам БДИПЧ ОБСЕ «Перспективы совершенствования института суда присяжных в Казахстане» и «Совершенствование судебного санкционирования предварительного заключения под стражу в Республике Казахстан». С сентября 2006 по сентябрь 2008 г.г. являлась координатором Проекта БДИПЧ ОБСЕ «Мониторинг судебного рассмотрения дел с участием присяжных заседателей в Республике Казахстан». Выступала экспертом по проекту Центра ОБСЕ в Астане «Мониторинг судебных разбирательств в Республике Казахстан 2007».  Выступала экспертом - аналитиком по проекту БДИПЧ ОБСЕ «Мониторинг судебных разбирательств в Республике Казахстан 2005-2006».  С сентября 2005 по сентябрь 2006 г.г. преподавала в Колледже Права и Экономики дисциплины: «Основы криминалистики», «Правовая статистика», «Судебное делопроизводство». Преподаватель второй категории по предмету «Основы криминалистики». Магистр Юриспруденции. Специализация: Уголовный процесс, криминалистика и судебная экспертиза. Квалификация: Юрист, Преподаватель. Является членом Консультативно-совещательного органа при МИД РК "Диалоговая площадка", членом Правового Совета при партии «Нұр Отан». В 2013 г. награждена медалью Конституционного Совета РК "Конституциялық заңдылықты нығайтуға қосқан үлесі үшін". 


МИРОШНИЧЕНКО ОЛЬГА

МИРОШНИЧЕНКО ОЛЬГА

Координатор программ

С сентября 2011 года занимает должность координатора программ Центра исследования правовой политики. С сентября 2009 по август 2011 г. работала ассистентом программ в представительстве Фридом Хаус Казахстан. С января 2006 г. по сентябрь 2008 г. работала Администратором Представительства Королевского Голландского Фонда по лечению туберкулеза в Казахстане. Начиная с 2001 года несколько лет занимала должность Административного ассистента Международной Тюремной Реформы (PRI), отделение по Центральной Азии. В Центре исследования правовой политики отвечает за организацию административной работы офиса, координацию проектов LPRC в Казахстане, поддержание контактов с представителями медиа, организацию работы стажеров, развитие контактов с неправительственными организациями и государственными органами. Бакалавр юриспруденции.


ИСКАЛИЕВА ДИНА

Координатор программ

В 2012 г. окончила Казахстанско-Немецкий университет по специальности Международные отношения. С сентября 2012 г. занимает должность координатора проектов Центра исследования правовой политики. С марта 2011 по апрель 2012 г.г. работала программным ассистентом отдела по правам человека Центра ОБСЕ в Астане. С июля по октябрь 2011 г. выступала ассистентом координатора проекта «Доступ женщин к правосудию в Казахстане» Международной Комиссии Юристов (ICJ), Алматы. С ноября 2010 по февраль 2011 г.г. работала программным ассистентом координатора Бюро по Демократическим Институтам и правам Человека (ОБСЕ/БДИПЧ) в Алматы.


ВАСИЛЕНКО ЕЛЕНА

ВАСИЛЕНКО ЕЛЕНА

Главный бухгалтер

С января 2013 г. занимает позицию главного бухгалтера Центра исследования правовой политики. С 1993 по 2012 г.г. занимала должность главного бухгалтера в различных коммерческих организациях. С 1989 по 1992 г.г. выполняла обязанности заместителя директора в хозяйственно-расчетных предприятиях. С 1986 по 1988 г.г. работала начальником планового отдела Калининского треста столовых и ресторанов. С 1981 по 1985 г.г. занимала должность старшего экономиста в Хозяйственно-расчетном предприятии №112. С 1977 по 1981 г.г. работала экономистом и старшим экономистом в Центральном проектно-конструкторском бюро Министерства автомобильных дорог Каз.ССР. Окончила Планово-экономический факультет Алма-Атинского института народного хозяйства. Специальность – Планирование промышленности.


 

Консультационный Совет является совещательным органом, который определяет долгосрочные направления развития исследовательского центра. Консультационный Совет формируется из высококвалифицированных специалистов  различных сфер деятельности, представляющих разные страны. Консультационный Совет Центра: 

 

ШКОЛЬНИКОВ ВЛАДИМИР

ШКОЛЬНИКОВ ВЛАДИМИР 

Владимир Школьников старший советник по правам человека на Южном Кавказе в штаб-квартире Верховного комиссара по правам человека. В 2008 - 2011 годах он занимал ряд руководящих должностей в общественных организациях, в 2004 - 2008 годах он работал в Бюро по демократическим институтам и правам человека Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе в качестве главы Департамента демократизации, в 1995 - 2004 годах господин Школьников был советником по вопросам миграции и свободы передвижения в той же организации, а в 1989 - 1995 годах он был Постоянным консультантом по исследованиям, в Корпорации RAND, Санта-Моника, Калифорния, США. В 1987 году господин Школьников получил степень Бакалавра (с отличием) в области электротехники и электронной техники, Государственный Университет Калифорнии, Сакраменто, В 1989 году получил степень магистра в области электроники, Университет Калифорнии, Ирвин, в 1991 году получил степень магистра в области Анализа Общественной Политики, RAND Высшая школа политических исследований, Санта Моника, Калифорния, а в 1995 году он получил докторскую степень по анализу государственной политики, RAND Высшая школа политических исследований, Санта-Моника, Калифорния, США.


НУРУМОВ ДМИТРИЙ

НУРУМОВ ДМИТРИЙ

Окончил Казахский Национальный Университет им. аль Фараби по специальности правоведение и Казахский государственный университет международных отношений и мировых языков им. Аблай хана по специальности международник-документовед (консульская служба), кандидат юридических наук (МГИМО, 2000). В начале карьеры занимался научно-преподавательской деятельностью; сотрудничал в качестве эксперта с казахстанскими и международными НПО, а также межправительственными организациями; занимался вопросами нелегальной миграции в представительстве Международной организации по миграции в Казахстане; являлся экспертом по правовым вопросам Центра ОБСЕ в Алматы. В 2003-2011 г.г. занимал должность координатора программы по верховенству права в Центральной Азии в Бюро по демократическим институтам и правам человека Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (БДИПЧ ОБСЕ). В 2008 - 2009 г.г. во время работы в БДИПЧ ОБСЕ координировал проект по мониторингу судебных процессов в Армении. С 2011 по 2014 г.г. являлся старшим советником по правовым вопросам Верховного комиссара ОБСЕ по делам национальных меньшинств (г. Гаага, Нидерланды). Автор 20 публикаций по актуальным вопросам правовой реформы в Центральной Азии, в том числе в Казахстане. Соавтор первого в независимом Казахстане учебного пособия "Консульская служба и право Республики Казахстан" (Алматы, 2000 г.). Награжден медалью "10 лет Конституции Казахстан," а также является лауреатом международной премии им. Гуго Гроция. Сфера профессиональных интересов: международное право, в том числе международная защита прав человека, уголовное право и процесс и др.


ТКАЧЕНКО ВЕРА

ТКАЧЕНКО ВЕРА

С июля 2010 г. работает в качестве Международного Проектного Менеджера в Управлении ООН по Наркотикам и Преступности (УНП ООН) в Кыргызстане. Возглавляет проект УНП ООН «Поддержка уголовной и тюремной реформы в Кыргызстане», целью которого является усиление верховенства права в Кыргызстане путем усиленной межведомственной координации и развития политики по предотвращению совершения преступлений и уголовного правосудия, улучшение управления тюрьмами, социальная реинтеграция осужденных, и усиленный судебный сервис. С 2008 по 2010 г.г. являлась директором Центра Исследования Правовой Политики (LPRC). С 2001 по 2006 г.г., заимала должность  директора Международной Тюремной Реформы для Центральной Азии (PRI). С 1999 по 2000 г.г. работала по реализации проектов Человеческого Измерения Центра ОБСЕ в Казахстане. В 2006-2007 г.г., в качестве стипендиата программы Чивнинг, получила степень Магистра в области Политики уголовного законодательства в Лондонской Школе Экономики и Политических Наук (LSE). В 2007 году, была научным работником Летней программы Стэнфорда в области демократии, развития и верховенства права. Имеет степень Бакалавра Права. В 2008 году была выбрана в качестве Заместителя Генерального Секретаря Международной Тюремной Реформы (PRI) и в июле 2011 г. Заместителем председателя PRI, международной неправительственной организации, которая занимается продвижением тюремной реформы по всему миру. С 2013 года, входит в состав Правления PRI. С 2009 года, работает в качестве научного сотрудника в Международном Центре по Изучению Тюрем (Кингс колледж, Лондон). Имеет большой опыт в вопросах уголовного правосудия и тюремной реформы.


КАНАФИН ДАНИЯР

КАНАФИН ДАНИЯР

Заместитель руководителя Центра стажировки и повышения квалификации адвокатов Алматинской городской коллегии адвокатов, адвокат Алматинской городской коллегии адвокатов,  член Президиума Алматинской городской коллегии адвокатов, член Президиума Республиканской коллегии адвокатов, доцент, кандидат юридических наук. Неоднократно сотрудничал в качестве национального эксперта с Бюро по демократическим институтам и права человека Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе, Центрами ОБСЕ в Астане и Бишкеке, Фондом Сорос Казахстан и другими международными организациями. По итогам 2008 года Союзом адвокатов Казахстана награжден медалью «За профессионализм». По итогам 2009 года Союзом адвокатов Казахстана было присвоено звание «Адвокат года». В 2013 г. был награжден медалью Министра юстиции Республики Казахстан «За вклад в развитие органов юстиции». Автор более 60 научных трудов.


ВАЩЕНКО ВАСИЛИЙ

ВАЩЕНКО ВАСИЛИЙ 

Выпускник факультета права Европейского Гуманитарного Университета (Минск-Вильнюс) и юридической магистратуры Центрально-европейского Университета (Будапешт). Бакалавр и Магистр Права. В 2001 - 2002 г.г. работал юрисконсультом в инвестиционной компании (Москва).  С 2002 по 2012 г.г. был специалистом по вопросам верховенства права в Бюро по демократическим институтам и правам человека ОБСЕ (Варшава). Руководил рядом проектов в сфере реформирования законодательства и правовых систем, в том числе в Центральной Азии. В 2012 - 2014 г.г. – специалист Международного Института содействия демократии и избирательным процессам (Стокгольм). Сфера профессиональных интересов: избирательное право и процесс, разрешение споров в избирательном процессе. 


КОВАЛЁВ НИКОЛАЙ

Доктор, Магистр права, Доктор философии, Ассоциированный профессор Кафедры Криминологии Университет им. Уилфрида Лорие Брентфор (Онтарио, Канада). Доктор Ковалев выступал в качестве эксперта по сравнительному уголовному правосудию, правовой реформе и международным правам человека для Управления Организации Объединенных Наций по наркотикам и преступности, Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ), Американской ассоциации юристов/Инициативы по верховенству права (AАЮ/РОЛИ), Министерства юстиции США, Международной комиссии юристов, и Центра исследования правовой политики. Он является автором многочисленных докладов анализирующих законодательные акты и законопроекты в Казахстане, Кыргызстане и Таджикистане. Сфера научных интересов: сравнительное уголовное правосудие, уголовное право, уголовный процесс и международные права человека. Особенно заинтересован в развитии института присяжных заседателей и реформе уголовного правосудия в пост-коммунистических странах с переходной экономикой.


АЛЬЖАНОВ ДИМАШ

АЛЬЖАНОВ ДИМАШ

В 2012 г. получил степень магистра по сравнительной политологии в Лондонской школе экономики и политических наук. Имеет богатый опты сотрудничества с казахстанскими и международными НПО, в сфере демократизации, избирательного процесса, сравнительной политологи. С 2007 по 2010 работал руководителем программ в Национальном демократическом институте международных отношений. Участвовал в Миссии по наблюдению за выборами ОБСЕ БДИПЧ в качестве политического аналитика на президентских выборах в Украине 2014 г. Сфера профессиональных интересов: избирательные системы и избирательное право, сравнительная политология.